A New Reality

As of today I’ve lost almost 30 lbs.! I will never regret the decision I made to start the ‘fad’ and I hope to maintain this as my permanent healthier lifestyle. Once people started noticing it was great! I was proud I had actually stuck with it and surprisingly succeeded. It was a wonderful affirmation of the transformation of my physical self and I appreciated the kind words of encouragement. Some people even told me they were reluctant to ask me about the change sighting that I, “looked just fine before.” This was a really kind gesture, and I appreciated that I wasn’t the full on troll I imagined myself to be. Now, here’s my question: When do people stop commenting on the weight loss?

It is heading into almost two months and I’ve written previously about my fear of “falling off the wagon” and gaining it all back. But as time progresses I remain conscientious of my eating habits and keep my activity level up. Co-workers are still commenting on the change e.g. “Wow, you really did it.” and “Congrats, what a change!” I often wonder if they are also waiting for it all to return. I totally understand this as sometimes it is in others failures that make people feel good, hence reality TV.

Some have told me I’ve motivated them to start losing weight. This was cool…at first. Then a few weeks later they mention how much I’ve lost…again…and say they need to start “something”. I’ve told them what I did (if they ask), some take a look at the ‘fad’, others say they will look at it but then don’t. The ones that don’t do anything then get angry and frustrated with themselves for not doing anything. This is a very strange place for me to be in. I know that everyone is motivated and inspired by different things. While I try to provide empathy and motivation, I’m not by nature a motivating person. But I think I’ve actually become a source of frustration for those that simply have not found their perfect “motivator” yet.

One co-worker even said to me, “Dang it, you did it, I should be able to also.” Really? If it were that easy, wouldn’t we would all be healthy and exercising regularly? Here’s what’s different between her and I. I had just the right motivators at the right time to push me forward. I needed some semblance of control in my ever growing chaotic world and head. I had to make this change for me or my pit of despair was going to swallow me whole. That’s it.

I’m looking forward to the day this healthier body becomes my everyday reality. The day I stop seeing the “fuller” version of myself whenever I buy clothes, I don’t worry that a day of TV watching will make me gain it all back, and people I know stop commenting on the change of what I looked like before and accept this is where I’m at. I think that will be the true measure of this successful outcome.

4 comments

  1. amandaturner612 · August 18, 2015

    I unfortunately have yo-yoed my way from 116 to 160 and up and down and up and down again. I have been on the receiving end of those compliments so many times… and I have found that they never stop. I totally get the feeling you’re describing when someone pulls the “If you can do it, then I should be able too,” comment… I think what people are trying to say is that you’re inspirational, but what comes out is “if you can do it, it can’t be that hard.” Try to see the positive side… I know it’s tough. Here to support you!

    Like

    • Jinx · August 18, 2015

      Thank you, I have been trying to put a positive spin on all the statements and questions. Best wishes for you as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic · August 18, 2015

    I think when people say, “dang you did it so I should be able to” is not supposed to be a slight. It is simply a commentary that someone they know was able to do it, not some hollywood show with professional trainers. It makes the unattainable suddenly seem attainable. Congrats on being that positive role model!

    Like

    • Jinx · August 18, 2015

      Yes, I really like that take on it. A “real” person and someone they know that struggles with more than just weight 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

