The Week After…

It’s been a week since my interview and, maybe I’m just being inpatient, but I don’t think it’s gonna happen.  I tried to focus on my current goals this weekend of eating better and being more active. But, ultimately the idea of getting a new job was just too overwhelming. I attempted to remain realistic, telling myself I did the best I could and that if it doesn’t happen it’s OK. BAH! I don’t know who I was trying to fool. I’ve been wanting to get out of where I am for too long; this interview was like a horrible tease. Since none of my references have been called I’m guessing the position went to someone else and I’m slowly, mentally falling apart. Yesterday, I forced myself to take my dogs on a very long walk in the hopes that physical activity would ease these feelings of disappointment and sadness. I came home, showered, and ended up taking an even longer nap.

It’s lucky I began this “eating healthier thing” before all of this because it’s times like these I would have typically found comfort in some really unhealthy, probably deep fried, foods. I can physically feel the depression starting to set in. Aching all over, more frequent headaches, low tolerance for pretty much everything (my poor BF), desire to sleep more, feeling hopeless and discouraged.

What I wouldn’t give to be like most people during times like these. To simply be disappointed maybe even a bit sad, but without the all consuming thoughts of what I should have or could have done differently weighing me down. Accepting that other opportunities will come along rather than feeling like the biggest, least qualified to do anything looser so why bother trying attitude that keeps creeping up.

I’m debating on contacting one of the people that interviewed me and asking what I could have done differently, or what experience they may have been looking for. Guess I will do that later this week if I can keep it together.

Mantra for the day, “It’s OK, I am OK, keep trying!”FullSizeRender

10 comments

  1. bagheeracr · April 6, 2015

    You should absolutely follow up, it’s actually nice to know that people really did want the job.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jinx · April 7, 2015

      Agreed and fortunately I knew one of the interviewers before so I feel a little more comfortable talking with her about it.

      Like

  2. Natalie · April 6, 2015

    I’m sorry to read this post! I would absolutely call if to achieve nothing else but piece of mind – you have taken to time to apply, and go to interview the least they could do is let you know either way! 😘 someone will appreciate your skills xxx

    Like

    • Jinx · April 7, 2015

      Thank you Natalie! I wrote about my unexpected follow up today. Embarrassed to say the least. 😦 I think they will let me know either way, I’m just not sure if it will be a phone call or letter.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Just Plain Ol' Vic · April 7, 2015

    As a former manager, follow-up can count for a lot. Especially if the interview was good and I am on the fence, trying to reduce my 2nd interview numbers.

    Cannot hurt to try!

    Like

    • Jinx · April 7, 2015

      Well, I wrote about my “follow up today.” As a former manager, I would love to hear what you think…right now I’m just embarrassed 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Bor Bor Igmus · April 7, 2015

    From the post, it doesn’t sound like you really know whether or not they’ve filled the position, yet. If that’s the case, you may still be in the running. A friend of mine interviewed for a position and didn’t actually get the job for six months. Follow-up may be a good idea, but you might not want to assume anything before you do talk to them.

    Like

    • Jinx · April 7, 2015

      I love your optimism and you are right!Though after my encounter today I don’t know what kind of a chance I have now. We will see what happens :-\

      Like

  5. Cat · April 7, 2015

    I am sorry it didn’t go to plan. It always takes so long to inform applicants, but it is well within your rights and very acceptable to ask for feedback about the interview, any reputable employer should be happy to provide that, usually verbally

    Like

    • Jinx · April 7, 2015

      Thank you, it seems I did interview well, but my “follow up” today may have made a different impression. LOL…we will see :-\

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

