The Day Before

interview-time-machineMy interview for the promotion is tomorrow morning and I’m trying very hard not to over think and raise my anxiety levels to unhealthy heights.

I’ve done everything I can to prepare. I read everything about the type of work I would be doing, I understand the requirements and how my current skills will be best suited, I updated my resume and references and have them printed on high quality resume paper (fancy cotton stuff), I bought a new interview outfit, I decided to go old school and do a black and white skirt suite with a sensible healed shoe, there is nothing more I need to do but show up 20 min early tomorrow and then answer their questions to the best of my ability.

So tell me friggin anxiety, what good are you doing for me right this very moment?! All you are doing is making it so that I can think of nothing else but what I may do wrong and making my stomach and head ache. You serve no purpose but to make me doubt my qualifications and wonder if they already have someone else in mind for the position.

Sure I may tell myself that if I don’t get the job that it’s OK. The worst that can happen is that it will be business as usual. But ohhh anxiety, you just cannot be satisfied with that can you, you suck monster. You cannot just accept that I will be just fine and the job I currently do is not the torture chamber you like to think it is.

Today will consist of fighting you off with everything I can. I will keep busy and not allow you to consume me. This is too important to me and I won’t allow you to invite your friends depression and self doubt along with you. Suck it anxiety, you are banished from today!!!

I just hope my arsenal of distractions, relaxation techniques, and positive thoughts gets me through this day.

14 comments

  1. mysticallunarose · March 29, 2015

    Wishing you all the Best. I say tell anxiety that you ‘Already have the job, so you lose’ you stuck around and wasted your time the joke is on you! With that I say ” Congratulation on the great promotion ” you must be so excited and proud! See it, Taste it, Touch it, Love it, Live it, Achieve it, and it’s Yours! Work in Progress Mystical Luna Rose.

    Like

    • Jinx · March 29, 2015

      Woohoo! Love it, will give it a shot:-) Positive overload!

      Like

  2. mysticallunarose · March 29, 2015

    Yeah writing it out is so much easier than doing it too I am sure….but it sounds good right??? ;~)
    I have heard it works too, all this positive thinking stuff. It may be easier typed than done as well, you will have to let me know how it works for you. Didn’t mean to overload you honestly…I have probably done so again. Second cup of coffee I am good at that, I don’t get out much (lol) … Wishing you all the best with the New Position. :~)

    Like

    • Jinx · March 29, 2015

      Oh no, you didn’t overload me at all, I do that to myself LOL. I appreciate the positive energy and message. Thanks so much!!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Just Plain Ol' Vic · March 29, 2015

    Use your anxiety to keep you sharp. It sounds as if you are prepared, so everything is well in hand. Best of luck!!

    Like

    • Jinx · March 29, 2015

      Much thanks Vic, working hard to keep things in proper perspective! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Just Plain Ol' Vic · March 29, 2015

        Just have faith and confidence I yourself!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Eilidh❤️ · March 29, 2015

    I wish you luck! 💗

    Like

  5. staystrong10 · March 29, 2015

    Good luck! 🙂

    Like

  6. Cat · March 30, 2015

    I hope it went well

    Like

  7. Pingback: What have I done? | writing out depression

Leave a Reply

