Why I Suck at Sales

I’m now almost done with my 30 day weight loss fad. This is my last week and I’m pretty satisfied with the results. Still debating on doing another 30 days just to get closer to achieving my goal weight or trying it on my own. What I like about the fad and why I started it in the first place in that it sets easy parameters of my eating, which I needed to get me kick started in the right direction.

I will say I have been more active, but I’m unsure if it is a result of the products promise to give me more energy or my determination to see healthier results. I also believe I would be seeing these results with any solid weight loss plan if I was able to stick to it. More activity, eating less and healthier foods is the main formula of any weight loss plan. This is reason number one why I would make a terrible sales rep! I always look at the big picture rather than giving all the credit to just one thing.

Today I received a Facebook message from someone I knew in high school. She and I were friends for a brief part of school but drifted apart and didn’t keep in touch as adults. I knew she had joined the weight loss fad because our mutual friend had told me after I ordered my box.  I thought she would have either been told or figured it out since I had posted in the groups “private” Facebook pages etc. The minute I saw the length of her message I knew she didn’t know.

It started as a normal message, “Hey, I’ve moved back to the area and would love to get together.” Then it happened, “Also I had an amazing experience where I lost 23 lbs I’m excited to share with you…” The sales pitch was strait out of one of their pamphlets. I knew very well she didn’t actually want to get back in touch with me as a friend. I’ve no doubt she has cut and pasted that same message into all of her friend’s messages. I think that’s sales 101, hit up family and friends then all the people you know.

So I had to break the bad news. Instead of going with my sarcastic first response of, “If that was the only reason you wanted to see me, don’t bother responding.” I gave her the benefit of the doubt, “Yep I know about the stuff. Just finishing my 30 days but would still love to catch up.” I have heard nothing from her since.  Ok then…

This would be reason number two why I would make a terrible sales rep. I would not want to use friends and acquaintances for sales. If they ask me about it on their own, I would be honest and tell them about my experience. But I’m not going to message people out of the blue under the guise of wanting to reconnect with them. I don’t like it being done to me so I wouldn’t do it to others.

Overall I’m really glad I did it. I have made good progress with this fad and am hoping I’ve created some good healthy habits that I can stick to from now on. I’ve allowed myself some cheat days, but I know how to get back on track and not beat myself up about it. That was one of my goals. Now just to lose the rest of this weight and I will be set! Patients and stick-to-itiveness, two things I’m still learning to be better at.

3 comments

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic · March 18, 2015

    Oh wow…just another sign of the evil that is Facebook!

    Like

    • Jinx · March 18, 2015

      LOL, well it could also be a sign of the evil that is fad diets, or the evil that is sales 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Just Plain Ol' Vic · March 18, 2015

        Ok….that too…lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

