Fasting vs. Starving

fasting

There are a lot of cultures and religions all over the world that involve some form of fasting. I’ve never been a party to any of those so aside from fasting for a medical procedure or being really ill I’ve never gone an entire day without eating. My new fad prescribes what they call “cleansing days.” There is a specific product you drink and special “snacks” you can take but eliminate all food not prescribed by their special regiment.  They recommend you do this for two days in a row!! Having done my research I did find that you can modify the cleansing to once a week or take it daily, however, they emphasize weight loss will be at a much slower pace. Well of friggin course it will, you are not starving yourself for days on end!!!

So I researched fasting specifically. There are a lot of studies that show evidence that fasting can be really healthy if done correctly. There are some that even claim fasting can extend your lifetime. I’m not going to get into specifics but at least I know this program isn’t trying to force weight loss via starvation.

I decided to give it a try on the condition I would only do one day a week for the next 30 days, today is day one. I thought being at work would keep me busy so that I’m not thinking about food all day. Two days sounds very overwhelming to me since I know in the past I’ve gotten headaches from not eating enough.  My ‘sponsor’ tried to tell me that headaches are a normal process because it’s the ‘toxins’ leaving your system. Ummmm, sorry I don’t do headaches. I suffer from migraines and stress headaches enough so I’m not going to ever purposely set myself up to experience headaches in any form.  If I’m eating healthy and show weight loss progress, I’m fine with that.

So far the morning is good. My sponsor gave me a very specific schedule so that every hour for the next 13 hours I have something to take. The schedule ends at 8 which she recommends just going to bed. Best way to not think about how hungry you are? Go to sleep apparently!

4 comments

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic · February 26, 2015

    Good luck!

    Like

    • Jinx · March 1, 2015

      Thanks I will need it!!! I have three more days to get through before my 30 days is up!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bor Bor Igmus · February 28, 2015

    Just think of it as practicing for a colonoscopy prep.

    Like

Leave a Reply

