Weight and fads

I did it, I joined a weight loss fad. It all boils down to this, weight loss is a simple formula of eating less than the calories you burn. Simple right? Well, apparently not for me. I really enjoy tasty food. I love comfort food, I love to eat to celebrate and I eat to cheer me up. This would all be fine if I was an avid exerciser and moved about 85% more than I actually do on any given day. But I don’t.

I rationalized my decision with this: the rest of my life is pretty much out of control. I struggle with depression, my father’s health and stubbornness, infertility, aging etc. I could at least take some action towards loosing weight. The exercise and eating less is ideal, but since I’m also a realist I knew I needed some help, hence joining the fad. Yep, it costs money to receive the necessary items to get my “body cleansing” started. This fad promises boosted energy but requires no exercise to lose weight. What more could a gal ask for?!

I discovered this one through some of my Facebook friends. One of them had the same body type as me and in just a few weeks I could see a real significant change. This will either be really great, or I’m just a sucker for good advertising. I want to be excited that I’m at least taking a step in a more positive direction, but the depression in me thinks this will just be one of several attempts I’ve made and failed. I’ve been mentally stomping that negative part down ever since I placed my order. I need to remain hopeful and optimistic that I can do this.

My order should be coming this week, time to get mentally prepared, I can do this!!!

11 comments

  1. dominickpeters · February 17, 2015

    Good on you for taking a positive step in the right direction. I believe you can do it.

    Like

    • Jinx · February 17, 2015

      Thank you! I really appreciate your faith in me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. siriusbizinus · February 17, 2015

    Regardless of whether or not you lose weight with this fad, you have already succeeded in wanting something positive for yourself and acting on that. I think that’s a really awesome thing!

    Like

    • Jinx · February 17, 2015

      Thank you! Yes, I’m trying to look at it that way as well. You can’t go wrong if the intent and plan is a positive one.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. tripleclicka · February 17, 2015

    I think it is wonderful that you have made this decision for yourself. I do want to say though that exercise is not something to be sniffed at and it can become something you love to do. Exercising while you go through this plan will create muscle and having muscle causes you to burn more calories. Even better than that, exercise helps with depression. It causes you to release endorphins, which will make you feel good. Being on this plan is great, but to make it easier for yourself and more beneficial, exercise, even just starting with a fast walk everyday will help you to get through it without making depression worse. I wish you the best in your pursuit!

    Like

    • Jinx · February 17, 2015

      Yes, exercise is vital and can help with more than just weight loss. My problem is I’m not consistent. This ‘fad’ I’m trying promises more energy and the weight loss will inspire exercise. If I’m not feelin’ it after 30 days I’m getting my money back 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Positive Change | writing out depression
  5. Pingback: What have I done? | writing out depression
  6. Pingback: Come on get happy! | writing out depression
  7. Pingback: A New Reality | writing out depression
  8. Pingback: Too Hungry! | writing out depression

Leave a Reply

