Taco Tuesday

In anticipation of my weight loss box coming in the mail this week, I’ve decide to start preparing my body for this new healthier life style early. Before I even bought the stuff, I had to have a serious talk with my boyfriend as his eating habits are just as unhealthy as mine. We discussed that even though he is not doing the same program he agreed to eat healthier and prepare more meals when he is home.

Today was tough because it has become a weekly tradition at work that we go out and get tacos from a local restaurant. They are cheap and they are friggin tasty! Even though BF prepared me a really good healthy lunch, I really wanted to get out of the office and I really, really wanted a taco.

I created all kinds of reasons to go ahead and indulge like; this will be the last time I get one before I start the program or instead of two tacos I will only get one. I liked these reasons. They justified me going the unhealthy route just fine. Surprisingly I didn’t. I did go out but ordered the salad (dressing on the side) and soup. It was weird to be “that friend.” You know the friend that finds the one healthy item on the menu while everyone else gets potato skins and beer. It was strange, I didn’t particularly like it, but I was pretty proud of myself for not getting the taco.

I’ve never thought of myself as having an eating disorder per se. But saying no to that taco was much harder than anticipated. I’ve learned that I get food cravings and damn it if those craving are never for salads or broccoli. According to this fad I’m trying, food cravings will be a thing of the past. I’ve read and watched videos of people claiming they have so much more energy and feel so good they don’t even think twice about eating healthier.

Along with the weight loss I’m hoping this may also help with my depression. There is a lot of research connecting poor eating habits and mental health. If this stuff is as great as it claims to be and helps ease my depression, well they would have a client for life…if I can afford it that is.

6 comments

  1. typingandthinking · February 18, 2015

    Nice post!!!

    Like

  2. fishrobber69 · February 18, 2015

    I’ve always been an emotional eater. I think I am addicted to the pleasurable feeling of being full, and I have no will to back away from the table, or eat something healthier. I crave salty and crunchy and chocolate, certainly not a healthy choice. I feel powerless to change, and it will kill me eventually. … I wish you good luck.

    Like

    • Jinx · February 20, 2015

      I can relate. That’s why I tried investing in this fad. Since it cost me money I feel like I may be more motivated to work on it.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Five Days of the Fad | writing out depression

Leave a Reply

