Desperately seeking change for the better!

Do you ever want something so bad you can feel it throughout your entire being? A new, higher level position has opened in my department and I want it so bad it hurts. I’ve been actively applying for jobs the last few years but I’ve had to turn down positions that didn’t offer enough money to make the move worth it. I don’t have the luxury of taking anything at a lower rate of pay since my income is all we have right now.

Applications and job interviews are about the only place where I feel comfortable talking up even the most basic of skills I possess. “Sure I’m a people person. I’m all about providing excellent client care and service blah blah blah.”

Years and years ago people would get promoted based on actual work experience and proven skills. Now you have to look good on paper and impress people in a 30+ minute interview. It doesn’t matter how many years you’ve worked hard or how many people you’ve helped. Nope, it’s all about dazzling some disconnected administration staff into believing you are better than all the other shlubs out there trying to dazzle them.

You would think that with the low quality workers that seem to be all over the place companies would want to reevaluate their standard hiring practices. But hey what do I know? Perhaps it would be better for me since I’ve been so unmotivated in my current position, I can fake my greatness to those that are none the wiser. Fake it till ya make it! Bwahahaha! UGH I’m losing my mind.

4 comments

  1. Just Plain Ol' Vic · January 28, 2015

    Be confident in yourself and your abilities.
    Change your perspective on the process, you are interviewing THEM to see if the position is worth your skill set.

    As a former HR Manager, confidence goes a long way. An interview is almost a sales transaction in this instance.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jinx · January 29, 2015

      That is one thing I know I do have and that is the ability to do that job. Just have to hope I get past the first screening process which is the ap.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Positive Change | writing out depression
  3. Pingback: The Day Before | writing out depression

Leave a Reply

