Patients, who has time for that?

I don’t know why but from as far back as I can remember when that clock struck 12 am on New Year’s day and nothing felt or looked any different I’ve always been a little disappointed. 12:01 am then 12:02 still felt the exact same as 11:30 pm. This same feeling of disappointment happens with birthdays as well. I wake up another year older and yet I feel the same as I did the previous day and probably the same as I did the year before. I wasn’t brought up believing there was supposed to be some miraculous change nor have I ever encountered something spectacular the last several New Years. So where does this strange disappointment come from?

Perhaps it is the huge emphasis on change and celebration that leads my subconscious mind to believe that with all that fan fare there should be an actual instantaneous noticeable difference. In the US at 16 you get to drive, at 18 you get to vote, join the military and are considered an adult, at 21 you get to drink alcohol and then at 25 your car insurance gets lowered (woohoo). Many people make these grand resolutions of change for the New Year. Thousands of posts talking about a clean slate and starting over again all because it’s January 1 of a different year. Maybe these societal life events set a trend in my mind that specific changes should be happening, and I want them right at that moment.

I know very well that change and transformation doesn’t happen instantaneously (under normal circumstances). It is a slow progression and at times can be a grueling process. But still. Wouldn’t it be amazing if every year we get older we gain a special ability? Every New Year as the clock strikes 12 we learn a secret of the universe?

Ok, yes, I’ve been reading a lot of paranormal novels. My imagination is getting away from me and now all I can think about is at age 40 you should gain the ability to breath underwater and 50 you should be able to fly. Come on, ya gotta admit that would be friggin cool.

time-travel

14 comments

  1. brentblonigan · January 1, 2015

    Resolutions just plain suck. I am not into making them anymore.

    For many, resolutions are means to please others. When making the resolution, what do you want to accomplish? Frankly, I rather just rather just be. Being whatever I am. That really should not be bad and if I am not affecting someone in a negative way, than I will just be.

    Like

    • jinx0923 · January 2, 2015

      I don’t set resolutions either. Not because I don’t need to change but because I just don’t need that kinda pressure 🙂

      Like

  2. staystrong10 · January 1, 2015

    I understand that disappointed feeling, I used to get it too (still do sometimes). I think it’s from the media and our culture that makes it a big deal, especially NYE. On TV, the ball drops and you see everyone in New York City happy and kissing and everything. As I watched that last night, I kind of realized that what was on TV is only what a small minority of our country/the world experiences. I think a lot of people feel the disappointment. We see what’s shown on TV and wonder “why am I not there/experiencing something like that?” We compare ourselves to that minority, what we feel we “should” be like (but aren’t), and I think that’s where the disappointment comes from.

    Hopefully you have a great 2015 though! 🙂

    Like

  3. Just Plain Ol' Vic · January 2, 2015

    I don’t have resolutions so much as I set goals for myself. I also don’t punish myself for failure, as you can learn and grow from failure. Life is too short to not enjoy it.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. brentblonigan · January 2, 2015

    Resolutions are usually just there to placate others. The only resolution I have is how to react to what is going on in my crazy head right now.

    Like

    • jinx0923 · January 3, 2015

      For sure, self care should always be the most important! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • brentblonigan · January 6, 2015

        During the Holiday Season, it is difficult to take care of one self because of expectations. I am tired and worn out.

        Like

      • jinx0923 · January 7, 2015

        I’m sorry to hear that. Perhaps getting back to the regular routine (and out of holiday mode) will give you a rest and back on track.

        Like

      • brentblonigan · January 7, 2015

        Thanks. Nothing special here. I think routine is important to us all.

        I am kind of new at this blogging thing.

        Like

      • jinx0923 · January 7, 2015

        I’m still pretty new as well, I started late October. I just signed up for Blogging 101 so hopefully I will learn what the heck I’m doing 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • brentblonigan · January 7, 2015

        Yea, I am not too adept at this. I am trying to figure out to build website so I can, hopefully, move book that is in process of publish.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Bor Bor Igmus · January 2, 2015

    Ditto to everyone’s comments. And I’d just like to say that I really like the yearly superpower idea 🙂

    Like

    • jinx0923 · January 3, 2015

      Right?! That alone would probably make the prior years garbage seem worth it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

