Vacation Overload

This is the longest time I’ve had away from work in years. The intense joy of logging off my computer December 19th reminded me that I am actually capable of such positive emotions. Thanks to the holidays I had actual plans last week, with people! Even though I wasn’t going anywhere for a true vacation all that mattered is that I would NOT be at work. I would not see my sniveling co-workers, or feel the heaviness of the office’s low morale for a full 13 days :-D.

I still have until this Friday, but I can feel a physical and emotional shift as the time of my return draws closer. There is a voice inside me that reminds me I need to embrace this time while it lasts. I need to do all the things I never have time for while simultaneously I need to be relaxing and letting go of stress. This has become a daily struggle of should I get the dogs out, get the sales items we wanted for Christmas or stay in my PJs all day and watch movies.

For some this struggle would be amusing and perhaps they would designate a day for each of those tasks. But for me it becomes counterproductive. If I make the decision to stay in, I give myself a mental beating for “wasting” the day. If I go out and do the errands and shopping the mental beating of spending too much ensues. It is a stupid and ridiculous thought process I know this.

The problem is, I know this time has to end. I will be back at work on Friday and next week I return to the doldrums of being a responsible adult. I feel like a kid who is finishing the best milkshake ever and with all their might is sucking on that straw to get every last drop.

Ok self, let go of that straw. Instead of getting any further joy from this you are just sucking.

4 comments

  1. bitofaworrier · December 28, 2014

    My last day off is tomorrow and Ive decided to have a lie in and then do some jobs and then meet a friend. I know by the evening I will be exxhausted and tues morning i wont want to get up but hey its the best all round to do a mixture.

    Like

    • jinx0923 · December 29, 2014

      Hope you enjoy it! Sounds like a good mix 🙂

      Like

  2. Just Plain Ol' Vic · December 29, 2014

    I will have had almost two weeks off, I go back to work on the 31st. All tough to do that after such a long absence.

    Like

    • jinx0923 · December 29, 2014

      UGH It really is painful to return. One day I will have a job I love and going there won’t be the nightmare it is…one day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

