Anti-Resolutions

Years ago I decided I would never set New Year’s resolutions. I did this as a way of protecting myself from the mental bashing that would inevitably ensue when I never achieved let alone even started those resolutions. It’s all about knowing yourself.

This year is no different, but I can’t help finding it serendipitous that I wrote a post about skills I wish I had that includes learning another language, see it here, and for Christmas my mother decided to get me this:

photo (5)

Of course this cute little calendar isn’t going to make me fluent in Japanese but it is certainly an unexpected step in the right direction.

Included in my little list I also wrote about wishing I had the skills for running. I’ve actually tried in the past but was discouraged I could never get the breathing right. Two of my fellow bloggers Bor Bor and staystrong10 not only provided encouragement but tips on how I can train properly. These tips actually got me excited to try running again. Even if I never get any further than that, I want them to know how much I truly appreciate them and their positive words.

Perhaps life is finding a subtle and gentle way of guiding me into some goal making. Perhaps life is a strange mix of coincidences and I’m making connections that are not really there. I’m going to try to believe the former. This will be a nice change of pace from my typical over thinking, pessimistic self. Let’s hope it lasts into the New Year 🙂

5 comments

  1. staystrong10 · December 27, 2014

    Thanks for the shoutout! You’ll have to let us know how running goes! Good luck!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Off to “University” | writing out depression
  3. brentblonigan · December 30, 2014

    Like your stuff. I am new to this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jinx0923 · December 30, 2014

      Thank you and welcome to the blogging world!

      Like

Leave a Reply

