Dreaming of Mad Skills

I think most people see talents in others and think, Wow, I wish I could do that! Some are pretty basic like roller skating (which I can actually do) while others take a lot of skill and training like baking or race car driving. People spend their entire lives perfecting these talents. For others, these skills come very naturally. Either way part of me really wants to smack them…in a childish and jealous sort of way. So below is a list of things I really wish I could do. I will call it:

Realistic things I wish I could do but have been too lazy, frustrated or depressed to learn

Speak and read at least one other language fluently: I feel like those that are bilingual+ get to experience so much more of the world. I had 4 years of Spanish…Uno mas cerveza, yep, that’s about all I’ve got.

Play an instrument and read music at an advanced level: I’m about middle school level with piano and clarinet. I’ve forgotten how to read music entirely. Every Good Boy Does Fine, I do remember that 🙂

Crochet: People look so relaxed when I see them twiddling away making cool hats and blankets. And I love giving and receiving homemade, useful items. My dogs heads are greatly lacking head wear!

Draw: I can do abstract no problem. You can see the “idea” of a tree but it could never exist in real life. Apparently that section of the brain that creates realism is broken.

Throw pottery: I took one semester of pottery in college and fell in love with the craft. Unfortunately, the tools and equipment necessary are not easy to afford or have in your house.

Be an expert martial artist: Like the instrument, I’m at a fairly beginning level of karate. Just knowing I could physically react in a physical conflict and win is powerful stuff for a woman.

Sing well: This one I have no training in other than elementary school choir. I would love to be able to do justice to the songs I sing along with in my car. Or at least feel comfortable singing along to the Happy Birthday song.

Run or jog: I read about and see on TV people running all the time. To be out in nature, taking in the fresh air, it just seems like a fun way to workout and relieve stress. Now, I’ve actually tried to train myself to run on a treadmill. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong, but I get winded way too quickly and then I’m just miserable the entire time. Perhaps the fun is a lie!

If you possess one of more of these skills, good for you I hope you appreciate it! Here is a virtual smack to show my immature jealousy! SMACK!!! 😛

17 comments

  1. fillyourownglass · December 22, 2014

    As an inherently lazy person I adore this list! I would love to be an expert martial artist, too. I do some Kenpo and Tae-bo, and from the confines of my living room I’m sure I could defend myself (who knows what the reality would be). I wish I could sing well, but I am as tone deaf as it gets. Perhaps making this list will inspire you to pursue at least one of these goals? I hope so! Best, Karen 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • jinx0923 · December 22, 2014

      haha Yes, I’m hoping it inspires me as well. I need that reminder they are, in fact realistic if I just make that all too painful effort to do them!

      Like

  2. Bor Bor Igmus · December 22, 2014

    I love this post! And you are not alone in the immature jealousy department 😉 (The ones that really get me are little kids who master something that I have tried to do and failed at, utterly. Everyone seems to thinks that should be motivating. No, no, it’s the opposite! And a part of me hates those little buggers.)

    Now, I am a crazy runner–not a great one, but I can go distance and can tell you how to train up to it (or at least how I did it.) And yes, it does feel great, but it didn’t for me until I reached the point where I could do three miles straight, comfortably. Once you hit that mark–you’re addicted (in a good way.)

    For me, there were two keys to going from a non-runner to a runner. 1. Running music, especially important when starting out on a treadmill. And not just any music, but high energy music. 2. I had to start slowly and build-up slowly. Really slowly. I started out jogging for 30 seconds (not sprinting) then walking for 3 minutes, and repeating for half an hour, five days a week. Each week, I increased the running period by 5 seconds, while taking five seconds off the walking periods. If you can run for 30 seconds, you can build up to three miles in a year or so. And once you hit three miles, you’ll find yourself pushing to go five, then seven, etc. You just have to know it takes time to build up and forgive yourself for not being good at it to begin with.

    And kudos to you for doing any martial arts–and remembering any Spanish. You’ve got me beat in both of those as well as in the musical instrument department. And I, too, am tone deaf–at least according to everyone who’s heard me sing 🙂

    Like

    • jinx0923 · December 22, 2014

      Thank you so much!!! Ok..I’m going to work on trying out your lesson plan on running. I was quite discouraged when I tried earlier this year so I will need to work on getting motivated again. Maybe a New Year goal 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bor Bor Igmus · December 22, 2014

        Thumbs up! And if the 30 seconds is discouraging–drop it down to 20 or 10–start wherever it isn’t discouraging. Most people try to go too fast, too long, too soon. And daydream while you’re walking and running. That’s the best part. I have saved the world and colonized Mars a thousand times while running, and I’ve won Iron-Man and the Boston marathon (in my head). When I run, I tap into my happy place, now. And if you need any running-buddy encouragement or chat, I will be thrilled to provide both 😀 (Sorry–I am an enthusiast. I will shut-up now.)

        Liked by 1 person

      • jinx0923 · December 22, 2014

        I’m pretty good at saving the world, winning the lotto, and rescuing all stray animals in my head, the problem is that distracting not being able to breath thing. I appreciate your encouragement, I will take all I can get!!

        Like

  3. staystrong10 · December 22, 2014

    Loved this post! And I can totally relate. I’ll say this: I felt the exact same way about running until a few weeks ago. I learned how to breathe properly while running (inhale 2 steps, exhale 3 steps works for me; you can find out more through Google). Just figuring out how to breathe right helps a lot. Running has become something I do to kind of ‘calm down’ my depression.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jinx0923 · December 22, 2014

      Now see, two bloggers are agreeing that running is the amazing thing I thought it was. I did look up breathing properly and tried the different methods. Maybe I was just too impatient. Ok…looks like I need to get back on the treadmill.

      Liked by 2 people

      • staystrong10 · December 23, 2014

        My counselor actually suggested that I try running. I had been lifting weights, which originally helped me with my depression, but it hadn’t been providing the benefits that it originally did, so she suggested that I start running. Keep trying, you won’t regret it! Or try an elliptical, those are great too!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bor Bor Igmus · December 23, 2014

        Be patient with yourself. Running changes your body but the transformation is gradual. You have to take it slow. Don’t be too ambitious on any one run. It’s keeping at it over weeks and months that gets you there. If your huffing and puffing too much–slow your pace, (easy to do an a treadmill) walk longer in between running. And when you get discouraged, the magic will happen when you get up to three miles. Until then, it will be work.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Bor Bor Igmus · December 23, 2014

        Oops–typo. there should be a ‘just remember’ after the word discouraged.

        Like

  4. fishrobber69 · December 25, 2014

    I can relate to almost everything you said .. French, softball, my trombone, being paid to write. Sometimes I get these moments of inspiration where I know I’m going to try something new or get better at something, then when I get depressed I just don’t care anymore. The bipolar swings have done this my whole life. It frustrates me when someone says “you can do it if you just put your mind to it and try”. Thanks, but my mind is what stops me from doing things.

    Like

    • jinx0923 · December 25, 2014

      Yes exactly! When you have to use every fiber of your being just to take that first step out of bed in the morning, jogging on over to your trombone lesson isn’t going to be much of a priority.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Anti-Resolutions | writing out depression
  6. sleepygate2013 · January 7, 2015

    I like your conversational style. Your list has some fabulous goals that you should definitely pursue. As a writer, musician, and artist, I find that tackling creative tasks can do wonders for depression. For example, I quit taking piano lessons when I was in junior high school. That didn’t mean I didn’t quit playing, and when my ex-husband walked out on me, I found myself playing the piano when the world became too complicated and closed in on me. I still need to give myself a kick in the backside to do what I want to do to help myself.

    Like

    • jinx0923 · January 8, 2015

      Thank you! Yes, there will be much self kicking of the booty needed for me, but I do plan on getting involved in something this year. I will have to explore what will be the most affordable and attainable 🙂

      Like

  7. Pingback: Goals for the Depressed | writing out depression

Leave a Reply

