Childhood Beliefs

The holidays are an especially nostalgic time of year for me. Even though I was typically sick at Christmas due to over stimulation and excitement, I absolutely loved the holidays. I loved them because wishes could be granted and magic was in the air. I think adults sometimes forget the innocence that was inherent in all of us as children. Often that naivety is stripped away too soon by societal or abusive situations. Ideally, I think all children should believe in the unbelievable for as long as they can, at least the positive ones. Once we reach the age of REALITY we can never ever get that innocent sense of hope back.

Here are some things I believed as a child:

Santa, Easter Bunny and Tooth Fairy, all real

Wishes on stars, birthday candles, dandelions, wishbones and wishing wells came true (I still make wishes on them, ya never know)

Sesame street puppets were real animals

Adults knew how to do everything from paying bills, making repairs to cooking meals (this knowledge didn’t come from study it just happened)

School taught you what you needed to survive in the world

Adults were never afraid

Women had babies randomly (this scared the crap outta me)

Only adults could have sex (whatever that was)

All adults made good choices (because they knew better)

Once you reached adulthood life got easier

Life was fair

Once I was an adult I would no longer fear/hate shots or blood tests (I still avoid these at all costs)

All animals listened and behaved for adults

Christmas was boring for adults because they no longer got cool toys (this was the only thing I wasn’t looking forward to, and it’s a little true)

Being a teenage meant you were almost an adult (I’m 40 and still don’t feel like an adult)

When you were an adult you could do whatever you wanted, eat what you wanted and go wherever you wanted (this may be true if all the other beliefs about adulthood were true as well)

When you became and adult you no longer needed your parents (little did I know I would need them so much more)

Ahhh to go back to that time of sweet innocence. To have such trust and belief in the world. Darn you adulthood for not even coming close to meeting my childhood expectations!!

2 comments

  1. Cat · December 7, 2014

    Great post… it’s so true, I chuckled my way through it. We do hinge so much on finally becoming an adult

    Liked by 1 person

    • jinx0923 · December 7, 2014

      It looked like such an ideal time. My parents made it look so easy. LIES!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

