Facebook You vs. Real You

facebook-vs-reality

For my friends and family I think Facebook has become a competition of who has the most #blessed life, #living the good life, #so much love. I get that we shouldn’t air all our dirty laundry to the world. Of course there are those people as well and I find them so much more entertaining. I’m talking about the ones that are constantly grateful, always blessed, and perpetually joyful. Ok, we get it, your life is awesome. At least that is what you want us all to believe.

When I first joined FB years ago, I made the mistake of comparing my life to those I “friended”. Damn, I had really done life wrong! Everyone else was accomplishing their goals, living their dream life, had the perfect spouse, a great job, and the most adorable children.

Then some people from work sent me friend requests and I realized the LIE! Their lives were not so pristine. I knew it because I saw them everyday, heard them complain about their looser spouse and out of control kids. But according to their FB pages they were #blessed. They would post pictures embracing the very spouse they “just know” is cheating on them. Hummmm. I was so caught up in my perceived failures that it never occurred to me people would exaggerate or out right lie to make themselves look good. I was so naive.

Even after learning the truth I still have to be careful not to fall back into the comparison game. Sure good things happen to people. Amazing trips are taken and fun can be had. But there is always a flip side. They are not going to share their “flip side” anymore than I’m going to share mine. #reality is what you make it

8 comments

  1. Gale Molinari · November 29, 2014

    Reblogged this on galesmind and commented:
    Facebook is entertainment period. It is fun but a lot of people on there like to pretend they are what they are not. A few people do the opposite too and it is poor me 24/7. It is best to not air your personal life on line any where. Just go for the fun and never take anything to heart there.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. listentothebabe · November 30, 2014

    I hate Facebook.

    Like

    • jinx0923 · December 1, 2014

      A lot of people do. Initially I like that I could keep in touch with relatives from out of state and reconnect with old friends. When I realized some of them were best left forgotten I learned how to block their posts. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • listentothebabe · December 1, 2014

        haha I know what you mean. That’s one of the reasons I’m off FB to avoid people. 🙂

        Like

  3. Just Plain Ol' Vic · November 30, 2014

    To this day I refuse to have a Facebook

    Like

    • jinx0923 · December 1, 2014

      My dad won’t either. His motto is that if he wanted to keep in touch with people he would call them or email.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Cat · November 30, 2014

    I don’t like FB and cancelled my account. I was amazed recently by a pic my sister posted on FB of her “lovely” mother….mmmm….in real life, that’s not usually what we call her!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

