Little Lies and Partial Truths

Sometimes I need to give myself a break. I’m really horrible when it comes to self punishment, blame, and put downs. I use these to prevent me from tunneling too deep into the depression mines. Here are some little lies and partial truths I tell myself to make me feel a bit better. Some may call this tactic reinforcing bad behavior or habits, I call it survival:

Reese’s peanut butter cups are good for you because peanut butter is a healthy protein.

Coffee is an antioxidant, wine is a fruit, beer is whole grain, it’s a totally healthy meal.

Took the stairs today, woohooo!Β Good cardio, got my exercise in for the day.

I’m not wasting time on the computer, I’m researching.

Playing games on my phone for hours teaches my brain to problem solve.

I’ll get caught up with my paperwork “for sure” tomorrow.

It’s OK that I’m not very social, I’m an introvert.

It’s good I didn’t get out of my PJs today, I’m saving water by doing less laundry.

It’s fine I can’t afford to get any new clothes, the ones I have still work.

No, I don’t really want that cool art piece, I would have nowhere to put it.

40 is the new 30.

I’m Ok with my BF not working, it will be good for him to go back to school.

I deserve this “sick” day even though I feel fine. It’s a mental health break!

I hardly ever use these excuses every day. πŸ™‚

4 comments

  1. bitofaworrier · November 18, 2014

    I’m liking the tactic reinforcing, may steal that. I have another for u. Chocolate comes from cocoa which comes out of a tree. That makes it a plan. Therefore, chocolate counts as salad. I have eaten loads of salad today πŸ˜„

    Like

    • jinx0923 · November 19, 2014

      YES! I’m so much more healthy than I’ve been giving myself credit for! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lifeofoneteen · November 20, 2014

    Haha, some of these are genius! I think I’m going to use some of them (mobile games and delaying work comes to mind). πŸ™‚

    Like

    • jinx0923 · November 26, 2014

      Please use as many as you need πŸ˜€

      Like

Leave a Reply

