Trauma at the park

Warning: animal violence, no one gets killed and it ends ok.

We usually take our dogs to an off leash dog park, but when I’m not working we take them for walks at a local park. Since I suck at maintaining a regular workout regime, this makes me feel like I’m at least doing something physically healthy. Yesterday as we were finishing our second round we noticed a dog running off leash with a boy following behind on a razor scooter. The boy yelled for help in grabbing the dog stating he was trying to catch him. The boy was about 13-14. He was grateful we had stopped and explained the dog wasn’t his. He was visiting his friend when the dog slipped out the front door.

This dog was slightly bigger than our small dog and about as big or slightly smaller than our larger dog. Initially they all sniffed each other, as dogs do, and then something happened. We have no idea what triggered it but he attacked our smaller dog. I saw bared teeth going for his neck then the face. It was a horrible sight. I frantically tried to get the leash and harness off of ours so that I could get him away. Our larger dog then tried to attack the other dog so I was holding him back and trying to untangle the other as the attack dog snarled and kept biting. The boy was clearly panicking as he kept shouting, “Bad dog, NO!” and yet remained frozen in place. When I finally freed our dog I notice blood on my hand. I knew I hadn’t been injured so horrible images of my dog’s flesh being torn open were going through my mind. I kept searching his little furry body for injury and he would whimper and cry out when I touched him.

Finally, my bf had the other dog secured and I had both of ours under each arm. He then said, “Don’t worry that blood is from me.” In his fight to get the dog’s mouth off our ours he put his hand into the other dogs mouth to prevent him from fully biting down. I feel horrible for saying this but I was relieved. I knew any injury we, as the humans, sustained we could get fixed. We could be rational, discuss any problems and take pain relievers as needed. Whereas, a bite in the wrong place could have been fatal to our dog. Our dogs would never be able to articulate their pain and we would have to guess what, if anything, would make them feel better. My bf was in total agreement.

We ended up getting the dog back to his owner. She was a complete twit and that’s putting it nicely. She tried to blame the boy who had been chasing after the dog for letting him out. My bf made it clear that she is the adult and you don’t put that kind of responsibility on a child. Further, it was her dog and her responsibility. I didn’t say much to her. For one, I was still in shock from what had just happened, and for another I really wanted to punch her in the face. I’m not a violent person, but her reaction was infuriating.

After complete body searches, we determined both our dogs were uninjured. The gash in my bf’s hand wasn’t too deep and we cleaned and bandaged it up when we got home. We decided not to press charges since we knew that twit woman would drag that poor kid and his family into it. And, we didn’t want to risk the other dog getting put down for her negligence. Once everyone seemed settled it was apparent I was the only one still traumatized by the whole thing. I really wanted to go back to her house and tear into her about what an irresponsible pet owner she is and all the reasons she is a shitty person.

So, today I’m trying to write it out. I want to be able to continue taking our dogs for walks without me panicking at the site of other dogs. Something that may help will be carrying a big ass walking stick with us from now on. I also want to let go of the anger I have just thinking about all the possibilities that didn’t happen. We are all OK, I just need the rest of me to fully accept and acknowledge this! UGH, I’ve got to go hug my dogs now.

12 comments

  1. youngandunsound · November 15, 2014

    Completely understand how you feel. And I’m feeling a lot of anger toward that woman. All kinds of words I could call her.

    So glad your fur babies are okay, and I’m really thankful you and you BF were reasonable about whose responsibility the dog was, and that the dog should not be euthanized for his human’s negligence.

    Like

    • jinx0923 · November 16, 2014

      Thank you, I really wish the laws regarding attacks like that would be more towards punishing the irresponsible owners and not the animals themselves.

      Like

  2. Bor Bor Igmus · November 16, 2014

    Being furious is completely understandable. And every time you think about it in the future, you’ll get mad all over again.

    A couple of years ago, I was walking my dog, Jasper, in our neighborhood on a leash, when he was attacked by three dogs. I’d seen all three dogs loose before, many times. The owner of the two boxers evidently opened the front door whenever the dogs wanted out, being far too lazy and irresponsible to actually take their dogs for a walk. Same with the basenji’s owner.

    The dogs attacked like a hunting pack, sneaking up from behind. Jasper is a little smaller than a boxer, and only has one eye. There was no way he could hold his own. They got Jazz down, by the nose and the rear, and I waded in kicking and yelling. (if you’re trying to break up a dog fight, kicking is more effective than grabbing and pushing.)
    Those dogs were not bad dogs. They were good dogs with bad owners. But at that moment, with Jazz down on the ground kai-yaiing (sp?) I wanted them dead, and did my level best to stomp the crap out of them.

    Jazz and I were half a mile from home, and his back legs were torn open from knee to hip. I carried him, and those three dogs trailed us all the way home. After taking him to the vet, I marched up to the house, where the two boxers sat on the front porch (and you know, they had a fenced back yard, but instead putting their dogs in it, they just opened the front door.) Of course no one answered. Which was probably a good thing. I felt like being pretty ugly right then. I still get furious to this day when I think what happened. I HATE irresponsible pet owners. They drive me nuts.

    Sorry for the rant. Reading your story just brought it all back.

    Like

    • jinx0923 · November 16, 2014

      Oh no, that is so horrible! But I’m glad your dog wasn’t killed. I have heard some terrifying stories like that so I’m trying to keep reminding myself that it could have been worse. Though I will admit it doesn’t lessen my anger }:-( There should be stricter laws that punish the owners rather than the animals!

      Like

      • Bor Bor Igmus · November 16, 2014

        Yes, even that episode could have been worse. I have to remind myself of that. Jasper recovered, though it took a lot of stitches, drains, and antibiotics. He still gets nervous on walks.

        I’m glad your puppies are OK and sorry about the bf’s hand. Keep and eye out for infection, just in case. I think people should have to prove they have a bigger brain than a dog does, before they can get a dog.

        Like

      • jinx0923 · November 17, 2014

        AWW Poor Jasper. It’s so hard to know what will make them feel less fearful. 😦 You try to tell them it will be ok, but they just don’t seem to understand.
        Yes, people should have to prove they can handle responsibility! No pets until you pass these tests
        🙂

        Like

  3. mskitk · November 17, 2014

    Glad to know that all the animals and humans are ok now. That woman’s response is infuriating.

    Like

    • jinx0923 · November 17, 2014

      Thank you. BF is actually is going to the Dr this week since the wound is a bit deeper than we thought. And maybe get a tetanus shot to be on the safe side.

      Like

  4. Cat · November 18, 2014

    OMG I would’ve fainted on the spot! My dog is always off leash in the dog park and doesn’t have a bad bite in him, but I do always feel anxious of other dog owners. It’s not the dog I’m assessing, but the owner… she sounds a prat! Glad it all turned out well and the bf’s arm wasn’t eaten!

    Like

    • jinx0923 · November 18, 2014

      hahaha Thank you me too! And yes, he will be going to get a tetanus shot this week.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Cat · November 18, 2014

    PS Oh and maybe the bf should think about a tetanus.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

